About the Council

The Council of Nordic Composers is an organization working for the interests of more than 1500 composers of classical music, art music, electroacoustic music and sound art in the Nordic countries. The members are the societies of composers in Iceland, Norway, Sweden, Finland, Denmark and the Faroe Islands, represented in the council by the chair of each respective society.

The Council of Nordic Composers was founded in 1947. The president of the council is Jørgen Karlstrøm, chairman of the board of the Norwegian Society of Composers, chair of the ECF-committee, vice-president of ECSA, and vice-president of TONO.

One of the most important and long lasting projects of the council is the festival for contemporary music Nordic Music Days (external website), each year hosted in a different country. Read more about the festival history here.

The Council as of 2019:

Member organizations:
The Norwegian Society of Composers
The Swedish Composers Society
The Danish Society of Composers
The Society of Finish Composers
The Icelandic Society of Composers
The Faroe Islands Society of Composers

Kongens Gate 24, 0153 Oslo, Norway, Phone: +47 22 41 82 40
Secretary: Ida Habbestad, ida@komponist.no